National Education Policy (NEP) Yojana 2021 - All You Need to Know About

By Sameer on Apr 15, 2021

Recently, the Central Government of India has launched the new National Education Policy in 2021 for the whole nation. They modified the previous education policy which followed 10+2 education system and bought the new one 5+3+3+4 system.

So, now from onwards in India we will experience the 12 years of schooling and before that 3 years of pre-school or Anganwadi education. It is said by the government that their aim to bring back around 2 crore children into the main stream who are out of school currently.

The government has aimed to provide the quality education from the school level and working to reform the education system as per the need of the hour. Here I am going to share some important points regarding this new National Education Policy. Check out here.

The government had divided the education system into below stages.

Foundational Stage (5):

This stage is completely belonging to the preliminary students consisting the age group of 3 to 8 years. In this stage students will study 3 years of play school or at Anganwadi and it is an add-on in this stage as classes 1 & 2. So, it will be complete 5 years of foundational education which will be must to develop basic skills in the children.

Starting with the Pre-school to KG, a student will learn language skills and basic education through play-based teaching and activities in the curriculum.

At this stage, it will be advisable that school and the teachers should focus on play activity-based learning methods that will develop the mind of a younger child in a better way.

Preparatory Stage (3):

This stage includes the students with the age group 8 to 11 years for the classes from 3 to 5. The primary focus at this stage will be on the skills like discovery, play and activity as well as interaction-based learning in the classroom.

At this stage, you can expect that numeracy and language-based skills will be developed in the children that will help to develop child’s cognitive development.

It is mentioned that till the class 5, child will learn all theses skills in his mother tongue or home language or in local language. Also, states are advised to decide which three languages will be taught to students of these grades.

Middle Stage (3):

In this stage, students from classes 6 to 8 are included and the prime focus in this stage will be developing experiential learning methods rather than pedagogy system from previous model. This new system will focus on the areas including mathematics, sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. Also, schools should focus on critical learning objectives rather than previous model’s rote learning.

This is the best stage where children can learn new things through practical sessions and modern technology-based teaching. This will develop decision making and learning abilities in the child.

Secondary Stage (4):

This stage belongs to the students from the classes 9 to 12 who are considered as matured kids but needed much more guidance to develop new skills. At this stage, the prime focus will be in developing a multidisciplinary system in which students can select their subjects as per their interest from the pre-decided structure that will be provided to each school.

Now, students will be able to choose from the streams like arts and technology as per their interest. The main motto is to develop flexibility and critical thinking in the students of these grades.

The prime focus of the government is to increase the involvement of the technology in the education field for that they are going to develop National Educational Technology Forum. Also, this new policy primary focuses on Multilingualism either we talk about the education in schools or higher education.

Along with that, the government of India is going to develop Indian Institute of Translation and Interpretation and National Institute for Pali, Persian and Prakrit to promote languages.

Higher Education

Students now will be able to freely choose their own interest field and subjects and also, they will have the option to switch subjects later on.

This means now students can choose from their own that what to learn, when to learn and how to learn. This policy will allow students to learn mathematics along with literature and physics along with music.

As per this policy, technological institutes like IITs will be integrated with arts stream and humanities so that students can choose their subjects freely.

Currently, the education system is filled with limited teachers, institutional autonomy, poor institutional governance, lack of focus on relevant research and quality and institutional autonomy which is downing the education quality.

So, this policy is introduced to enhance the quality and flexible education system for the students in India. Recently, our Prime Minister Sh. Narendra Modi hailed this new National Education Policy in an event and said that this will transform the whole education system in India.